Time to Ride Off Into the Sunset

Where do I even start?

Stallion and I started dating on August 27, 2005. He proposed to me on August 25, 2012. I was introduced to you all on September 25, 2013. We tied the knot on April 5, 2014. And today,  91 blog posts later, I sign off for the last time as Mrs. Filly.

photo 0366

BYE, GUYS. (courtesy of Aleksey Photography)

It’s been a wild ride. Planning a wedding is alternately exhilarating and exhausting. I’ve shared with you all the ups, downs, and boring parts – I did an Excel tutorial, for heaven’s sake, does it get more boring than that?!

As usual, I’m veering off-topic. The point is, over the past nine months, I’ve shared a slice of my life with you all, and I want to thank you for reading, for commenting, for sharing your stories with me. Weddingbee is such a special community, and it has been a privilege to serve as a bee blogger. Whether you enjoyed my posts or not, whether you’ve been following my story since the beginning or just started reading, the point is that you’ve been there, and I appreciate it more than you’ll ever know.

How is newlywed life treating the Fillies? Pretty much exactly the same as single life, except we have a healthier savings account and nicer stuff in our kitchen, and my hair is longer because I am NOT getting a post-wedding chop. So life is good. No complaints.

photo

Abusing photo booth privileges everywhere we go.

What does the future hold for the Fillies? That’s to be determined. Stallion is in his last year of his Ph.D. program, on track to defend his dissertation in the spring, meaning that come May, we’ll very likely be packing up and moving again. This time next year, we could be literally ANYWHERE. It’s scary, but exciting – who knows what our next adventure will be? In the meantime, we’re making the most of Boston while we’re still here. Maybe by the time we leave, I’ll have incorporated “wicked” into my everyday vocabulary. Stranger things have happened.

photo-1

WICKED PISSAH AT FENWAY PAHK! GO SAWX! (Did I do a good job?)

What am I going to do with all my free time now that I don’t have to plan a wedding anymore? Um, ABSOLUTELY NOTHING. And I am going to enjoy every second of it. Oh, and I’m taking the GMAT in three weeks, so assuming I don’t completely forget high school math, it’s looking like grad school may be in the cards for me. What can I say? I like pain.

Any last bits of advice for brides-to-be? Enjoy every second. Even the boring stuff. And for heaven’s sake, be nice to people.

It’s been real, you guys. This isn’t goodbye; it’s “see you later”.

Love love love,

Lauren/Mrs. Filly

1913608_1163326166575_6777062_n

This is B and I dressed up as little piggies. I always wanted to share it, but the time never felt right. And since this is my last post, I guess it’s now or never.

photo 0359

I guess my last-last picture should be Stallion and I, right? Probably. (courtesy of Aleksey Photography)

I love you guys. Thank you for putting up with me. Bye!

Leave a Reply

