A Stable Kind of Love: Baby, We Were Born to Run

The entrances have been made, the toasts are done, dinner has been eaten, and the cake has been cut. What’s left to do? Oh, right – dance the night away! We hired the B Street Band for a reason. We wanted a party, and a massive party is exactly what we got.

photo 1123

All photos courtesy of Aleksey Photography.

photo 1028

The dance floor was packed the entire night. The band played a good mix of Springsteen hits – Thunder Road, Dancing in the Dark, Hungry Heart – and Motown/classic rock crowd pleasers – Shout, Sweet Caroline, Brown-Eyed Girl, Runaround Sue – and because it was, after all, the Jersey Shore, they had to play Under the Boardwalk by the Drifters.

photo 1118

Don’t worry, you guys. I was thoroughly undignified at all times.

photo 1046

But so was everyone else, so it was okay.

photo 0982

Every once in a while, Steve, the sax player, would go running through the crowd. It was awesome.

photo 1124

I got to dance with my husband. Stallion’s friend got a tambourine.

photo 1013

My dad got my 92-year-old great aunt to dance.

photo 1134

Tell me, how much do you love looking at pictures of strangers dancing? (Strangers to you, anyway. I know all these people. Don’t worry.)

photo 1035

All good things must come to an end, and our wedding was no exception. There was just one song left for the band to play.

I think the idea of a special, private last dance has been covered extensively here on Weddingbee – I know Mrs. Rucksack, Mrs. Camera, and Mrs. Jaguar have all done it – but we opted to make our last dance the biggest, best crowd pleaser of all. We wanted to end our wedding on the absolute highest note. And we have the rest of our lives to be alone together, but we didn’t have much time left with our guests. We wanted everybody together on the dance floor for the last song.

So here it is.

We had actually thought about doing a slowed-down version of Born to Run as our first dance, but we ultimately decided against it because if we used it for the first dance, we’d miss out on it as a party song. And saving this song for the very last dance was well worth it.

I don’t have many vivid memories from my wedding day, but this – getting to dance and jump around and fist pump and sing my lungs out with all my closest friends and family and my newly-minted husband by my side – is something that I will remember and cherish for the rest of my life.

photo 1141

The highway’s jammed with broken heroes on a last chance power drive 
Everybody’s out on the run tonight, but there’s no place left to hide 
Together, Wendy, we can live with the sadness 
I’ll love you with all the madness in my soul 
Someday, girl, I don’t know when 
We’re gonna get to that place where we really wanna go 
And we’ll walk in the sun 
But ’til then, tramps like us 
Baby, we were born to run

The wedding was officially over. But the party? That was just getting started.

stable

Missed one? Catch up on the fun!

One thought on “A Stable Kind of Love: Baby, We Were Born to Run

  1. That picture of Aunt Ronnie.<3

Leave a Reply

