A Stable Kind of Love: Down the Shore, Everything’s All Right

Stallion and I decided that once the party started up, it should continue with minimal interruptions. That meant that we’d be banging out all the standard wedding traditions early in the evening, one right after another, and once they were done, we’d be out of the spotlight and everyone could go about their business.

First up: spotlight dances. From the moment we’d booked the B Street Band to play our wedding, we knew what our first dance/awkward middle school sway would be.

All photos courtesy of Aleksey Photography.

photo 0789

A Cape May wedding, a New Jersey native (and an honorary New Jerseyan, even if he doesn’t think it’s much of an honor) – Jersey Girl was the perfect song for us. Between you and me, we had also strongly considered If I Should Fall Behind, but the more Stallion listened to it, the more he thought it was “funeral-y”. So Jersey Girl it is.

photo 0790

I got no time for the corner boys 
Down in the street making all that noise 
Or the girls out on the avenue 
‘Cause tonight I want to be with you

photo 0798

Tonight I’m gonna take that ride 
Across the river to the Jersey side 
Take my baby to the carnival 
And I’ll take her on all the rides 

photo 0817

Down the shore everything’s all right 
You and your baby on a Saturday night 
You know all my dreams come true 
When I’m walking down the street with you 

photo 0808

You know she thrills me with all her charms 
When I’m wrapped up in my baby’s arms 
My little girl gives me everything 
I know that some day, she’ll wear my ring 

photo 0824

So don’t bother me man, I ain’t got no time 
I’m on my way to see that girl of mine 
‘Cause nothing matters in this whole wide world 
When you’re in love with a Jersey girl 

After the wedding, my mom commented on how happy we looked during our first dance and wanted to know what we’d been talking about during it. Unfortunately, it wasn’t anything cute or romantic – mostly, Stallion was asking if we were in rhythm and I was telling him that no, we weren’t. But, as always, my mom was right; we were very, very happy in that moment.

Following our first dance, Stallion took a seat while I stayed on the dance floor to share a dance with my father.

Both Stallion and I are fortunate in that we have great relationships with our parents, so it was important to us to include spotlight dances with them in the reception. We asked our parents to choose the songs for their dances; we wanted the song to mean as much to them as it would to us.

My dad’s choice was a little out of left field – it was Smoke Gets In Your Eyes by the Platters.

photo 0841

Lyrically speaking, it’s not the most conventional song for a father-daughter dance (it’s actually a breakup song), but that’s not the reason my dad chose it. When I was a baby, my dad would dance with me to this song around our living room. It meant a lot to him that we dance to it one more time.

photo 0848

He attempted to coach me through a basic waltz box step , but I’m pretty sure his efforts were fruitless.

photo 0850

They said someday you’ll find
All who love are blind
When your heart’s on fire
You must realize
Smoke gets in your eyes 

Following our dance, it was Stallion’s turn to dance with his mom, who chose When You Need Me by (of course!) Bruce Springsteen.

photo 0865

When you need, me call my name
‘Cause without you, my life just isn’t the same
‘Cause when this world kicked me around
You picked me up off the ground
So if you need me, I’ll be there

photo 0870

I love Stallion’s mom’s face here – you can totally tell she thinks the world of her son. Great minds think alike!

photo 0863

For those of you who are keeping score, while neither of us cried during our first dance, both my dad and Stallion’s mom cried during their spotlight dances. I’m assuming this means that we did something right … right?

I’m so glad we took the time to dance with our parents, even though our slow dance skills start and end at the middle school sway. I guess we inherited our dancing abilities (or lack thereof) from somewhere!

Did you include spotlight dances at your reception? What songs did you choose?

stable

Missed one? Catch up on the fun!

One thought on “A Stable Kind of Love: Down the Shore, Everything’s All Right

  1. I need to stop reading these in work because I cry. Every. Time.

Leave a Reply

