A Stable Kind of Love: Here Comes the Bride

Outside, there was silence. The doors to the balcony were closed. I stood in the hallway with my parents – the only time that day I was alone with them, so it was a moment to savor. I took a deep breath and grabbed their hands.

I heard the music start up over the rustle of 150 people standing. And then the doors opened. It was time to start walking.

spotify:track:5l5oJ7rf3ZODYsrAS1hah4

Before getting engaged, I hadn’t thought much about my hypothetical wedding, but for years and years, I’d known two things: I wanted both of my parents to walk me down the aisle, and I wanted to walk down the aisle to their wedding song, “Can’t Help Falling in Love” by Elvis Presley. To me, everything about it was perfect. It was a way of honoring them, of thanking them for everything they had done for me (and Stallion!) over the years. It was a way to mark the transition from being my parents’ little girl to being in my own marriage. And it’s a beautiful song in its own right, of course.

All photos courtesy of Aleksey Photography.

The doors opened, and this is what I saw:

photo 0583

That, my friends, is A LOT of people. I definitely got a touch of stage fright, which is probably why I’m looking down in a lot of these pictures. Listen, brides – LOOK UP when you’re walking down the aisle. Or you’ll look dumb in your pictures, like me.

photo 0585

 

photo 0591

Would it have killed me to look up? Apparently.

And then I rounded the corner, saw Stallion, and this happened:

photo 0596

And this:

photo 0600

Yeah, I can authoritatively say that having a first look did not have any sort of impact on that moment when we saw each other at the ends of that aisle. I completely forgot my surroundings; all I could see was my soon-to-be husband standing just a few feet away. It was both the longest and quickest walk of my life.

photo 0603

I don’t remember this happening, but my friend A swears it pretty much killed her. We get to the end of the aisle, and I ask everybody if they’re ready. I guess I was really excited to get going. Maybe it happened and maybe it didn’t, but hearing about it made me laugh.

photo 0609

I do remember this happening, though – my dad asked if I was going to hug him goodbye, and I responded, “Goodbye? Where do you think I’m going?”

And that was my less-than-graceful walk down the aisle. At least I stayed on my feet, right?

And, FINALLY (because I feel like I’ve been saying this for multiple posts now), it was time to get married! Questionable marriage license and all.

 

stable

Missed one? Catch up on the fun!

One thought on “A Stable Kind of Love: Here Comes the Bride

  1. Thanks for making me cry in work.

Leave a Reply

