A Stable Kind of Love: Getting Glam

Even if I wanted to be upset about our marriage license snafu, there was no time – we had to start getting ready!

Bridesmaids, moms, and I congregated in my hotel room for the lovely ladies from Nine Salon & Spa to work their magic. I didn’t have anything specific in mind for hair and makeup, just whatever everyone thought suited them best. It was nice to sit back, relax, and be pampered before the wedding craziness ramped up.

You’ll notice that I changed my look a little bit from my trial. I toned down the lipstick and chose a more “my lips but better” shade, and I ditched the fishtail braid – not because I didn’t like it, but because my hair is so dark, it was too hard to see it. It wasn’t worth the effort, and once I was all put together, I didn’t miss it one bit.

The end result? Everyone looked so gorgeous. I guess we clean up pretty nicely.

All pictures here on out are courtesy of the wonderful, incomparable Aleksey Photography.

photo 0019

K, some weirdo, B, and Z.

We noshed on an enormous antipasti platter from Seaside Cheese, the remnants of which can be seen in the above picture. It was delicious.

photo 0023

Casually trying to find a place to sit around my gigantic veil.

And then it was make-or-break time. Hopefully BM B had been working on her upper body strength – she was going to need it to get the zipper up. (I kid. Kind of.)

photo 0087

photo 0089

It zipped – success!

photo 0094

Once the zipper was zipped, there were approximately six million tiny buttons that needed to be done up. B handled that; Mama Filly tried, but without her reading glasses, she couldn’t see them. So she just stood there and looked pretty.

photo 0096

I’m including this picture not because it shows an important detail of our wedding day or because it tells the story of what happened while we were getting ready, but because I think I look really skinny here. Not sorry.

photo 0118

A moment with the mamas.

photo 0111

My mom and I. These pictures were hard – we kept tearing up every time we looked at each other.

And then I summoned ~ma girlz~ for some group shots. Apparently I thought it was a good idea to hold my bouquet like it was a Shake Weight.

photo 0148

photo 0149

We even had time to sneak in a couple of bridal portraits.

photo 0123

photo 0124

And then it was time to go. I took off like a bat out of hell – I had a groom to meet!

photo 0154

SEE YA, WOULDN’T WANT TO BE YA!

stable

Missed one? Catch up on the fun!

Leave a Reply

