Keeping with tradition.

Okay, so in my last post, I told you all how I was a badass, rebellious bride, fighting the good fight against the WIC and throwing all the basic, boring, antiquated wedding traditions out the window … or not.

Anyway, it’s all well and good to talk about where we’re breaking with tradition, but really, there are a lot more traditions we’re keeping than not. So, without further ado: how Stallion and I are keeping things traditional.

  • Vows. Nope, Stallion and I are not writing our own vows. Done right, original vows are beautiful and heartfelt and touching (see Mrs. Jam and Mrs. Blue Whale if you want great examples). Done wrong, they can be kind of awkward, to say the very least. For us, there’s something to be said about using the same vows countless couples before us have recited for years and years, reaffirming the significance of what we’re about to do. The vows our officiant has provided us are as follows:

Filly, do you take Stallion to be your lawfully wedded husband, to be held together in the state of matrimony, to love him, comfort him, honor and keep him, in sickness and in health, and forsaking all others, keeping yourself only unto him, so long as you both shall live? 

Really, what else is there to add? Promising I’ll let Stallion pick what we watch on Netflix once in a while? I’d be happy to make that promise, just maybe not in the middle of the most important commitment I’ll ever make in my life.

  • Attire. I’m wearing a poofy white dress and a veil; Stallion is wearing a tux. Can’t get much more traditional than that.
  • Bridal party. Granted, we don’t have an “even” bridal party – I have three bridesmaids and Stallion has two groomsmen – but they’re there. My bridesmaids are my two sisters and my future sister-in-law; Stallion’s groomsmen are his best friend from high school and another close friend. We can’t imagine a better group of people to stand by our side as we take the plunge.

IMG_6342

(My gorgeous bridesmaids and I at my shower – personal photo!)

  • Something old, new, borrowed, and blue. You know, because I didn’t already write an entire post about what my somethings would be. If I wasn’t clear enough the first time around, I will be sticking with this tradition.
  • Spotlight dances. We’ll be having our first dance/awkward middle school sway as a married couple, of course, and we’ll have father/daughter and mother/son dances as well. We have great relationships with our parents, and we wanted to give them their moments in the spotlight, so it was an easy decision to keep this tradition.

rfr4620-copy

(Mr. and Mrs. Camera are far better dancers than Stallion and I could ever aspire to be.)

  • Cake cutting. We’re having your standard tiered wedding cake, so why not? I’ve always thought the whole “feeding each other the first bite of wedding cake” thing was super cute. That said, you know what’s not cute? The cake smash. My friends, if Stallion smashes cake into my very expensively spackled face, our wedding reception will turn into a divorce party.

Bree-an0136-1

(While not really a cake SMASH per se, I still nominate Mrs. Bunting for sainthood.)

  • Toasts. Don’t worry, guests! The toasts will be short and sweet. My dad, my maid of honor B, and Stallion’s best man M will be delivering the toasts. I trust that they’ll all do a great job and we’ll be tucking into our delicious dinners in no time.

So much for being rebellious and badass, you guys. I guess we’re pretty traditional after all.

What wedding traditions are you sticking with?

Leave a Reply

