Rules were made to be broken.

Those of you who follow the calendar are aware that it is now March. Those of you who follow my blatherings are aware that my wedding is in April. Now you all know that I am getting married NEXT MONTH. I must be writing this blog post beyond the grave, because I am DEAD.

tumblr_lyqk100I5d1r4ghkoo1_500 (1)

(via Tumblr)

Some people call them traditions, some people call them clichés, but no matter how you slice it, there are certain things that people expect to see at a wedding. Like most couples nowadays, Stallion and I are picking and choosing what traditions to incorporate into the wedding. I think, for the most part, we’re having a pretty traditional wedding, but we have decided to omit certain customs. There’s nothing wrong with any of them; it’s just personal preference on our part.

So, that said, here’s what we’ll be skipping. Because we are, like, soooooo rebellious.

  • Spending the night before the wedding apart. I know this may come as a shock to some people, but Stallion and I live together. We’ve been shacking up for nearly four years now. Spending one night apart isn’t going to fool anybody. Not to mention the logistics of it – we’re not too keen on springing for an extra hotel room for one night, nor do we want to impose on any of our guests. And really, there’s no one else I’d rather spend the night with. Together it is!
  • Not seeing each other prior to the ceremony. One of my favorite sights at a wedding is the groom’s face when he sees the bride start walking down the aisle. And you know what? I’ve never been able to tell which couples saw each other prior to the ceremony and which did not. This Buzzfeed article showing grooms’ reactions to their brides shows that a first look doesn’t lessen that impact one bit. To us, being able to see each other before the ceremony will help eliminate any pre-wedding jitters so that we can relax and enjoy every moment of the ceremony. Not to mention we’ll get our pictures out of the way early so we can really cut loose at the reception!

Sam+Ale0181

 

(via Mrs. Rucksack – one of my favorite first look photos!)

  • My dad walking me down the aisle. Okay, I’m not REALLY skipping this – I’m just putting a little twist on it. Instead of having just my dad walk me, I’ll be walking with both my mom and my dad. I don’t like to think of it as “giving me away” like I’m their property; rather, I think of it as my parents being by my side, just as they have (and I hope they’ll continue to do) for every milestone of my life.

0379_Ma

(via Mrs. Mongoose)

  • Flower girl/ring bearer. Like I’ve said before, we’re not having kids at the wedding. We’re not particularly close with any children, nor was it important to us to have kids in the bridal party, so it was an easy decision to skip this.
  • Unity ceremony. You know – handfasting, unity candles, sand ceremonies, all that good stuff. I’ve always loved seeing these at other people’s weddings, but when it came time for Stallion and I to plan our own ceremony, none of these really spoke to us. We’ll be saying our vows and that’s it. Sure, our ceremony will be short and sweet, but I don’t think I’ve ever heard a guest say that they wish the wedding ceremony had been longer .
  • Bouquet/garter toss. Even as a single girl, I’ve never participated in this tradition, so I was all too happy to cut it. Why stop the party, you know? That said, I LOVED Mrs. Campfire’s twist on the tosses – she invited all guests to participate, and the prize was an Amazon gift card. Frankly, I would have been throwing ‘bows to catch that bouquet.

toss

 

(via Mrs. Campfire)

  • Taking my husband’s last name. You guys may remember my waffling on the issue ages ago. I finally came to the conclusion that I’m keeping my name. At the end of the day, I like my name and don’t want to change it to anything else, tradition be damned. The big thing that was holding me back from making this decision earlier was the fear that Stallion would take it as a snub to him and his family. The last thing I wanted to do was stir up drama. But he’s 100% supportive, and I know he’ll have my back if anyone has any objections. We’ll be just as married and just as much of a family regardless of whether or not we share a name. Despite all the attention name changing gets in wedding blogs these days, I know I’m swimming against the tide by opting to keep my name. If people insist on referring to me as Mrs. Stallionsname, I won’t fuss over it. Frankly, they can call me whatever they want, as long as they don’t call me late for dinner.

What wedding traditions are you skipping? Anything you’re on the fence about including?

Leave a Reply

