The wedding of my dreams … or nightmares.

It’s noon on my wedding day. The hair stylist and makeup artist are due to arrive at the hotel any minute, and our photographer will be here in two hours. Everyone is hustling and bustling around me. The guests have all arrived in town, ready to eat, drink, and dance the night away.

Problem? I’m not at the hotel, let alone in town. I’m at my parents’ house, 150 miles north of our wedding location (so a solid three hour drive!), and no one seems to be making any moves to get going – myself included, since I’m still in my pajamas. I keep asking what’s going on, when are we leaving, doesn’t anyone remember that we have a wedding to get to? Either no one can hear me, or everyone is ignoring me on purpose. My dress, shoes, and jewelry have all gone missing, and Stallion is nowhere to be found. My vendors? What vendors? I haven’t heard a peep from them.

My wedding is taking place in a matter of hours. There is a snowball’s chance in hell that I’ll be ready to walk down the aisle at the scheduled time. I have nothing to serve my guests, let alone anything to keep them entertained.

Frustrated and angry, I’m ready to blow off this whole wedding business. If there’s one thing I can’t stand, it’s lateness. And lateness to this degree? Unacceptable. I’m on the verge of ripping up my marriage license and tracking down Joseph Gordon-Levitt.

And then, dear Bees, I woke up.

That’s right – I just experienced my first wedding-related dream, and it was literally a nightmare.

I guess you know you’ve been at this wedding planning business for too long when it starts invading your slumber. It’s funny; although I’ve heard of people having bizarre wedding dreams, I never actually thought I’d experience one. For one thing, I seldom remember my dreams, and for another, I don’t spend much time during the day thinking about the wedding, so it’s not exactly on my mind when I go to sleep at night. Maybe it has something to do with all the blogging I’ve been doing for a certain wedding-related website … nope, can’t be that!

The dream was so vivid and felt so real that the first thing I did when I woke up was check my phone to confirm that I still have six months to go. The second thing I did was tell Stallion, who in turn told me that I had been snoring like a trucker.

So, Bees, is this what I have to look forward to for the next six months? Did you experience any weird wedding dreams? Tell me about them – the weirder, the better!

One thought on “The wedding of my dreams … or nightmares.

  1. No surprise on the snoring part.

Leave a Reply

