In which I (almost) say yes to the dress.

I started the dress shopping process super early – as in 15 months before the wedding. This wasn’t out of any desire to start trying on dresses; K was leaving to study abroad in France and wouldn’t be back until the summer, but she wanted to be part of the dress shopping process. We figured the best compromise would be to start trying on dresses while she was here, and then I’d order THE dress while she was away.

Spoiler alert: things didn’t quite go according to plan.

We started our search at the infamous Kleinfeld in New York City. I fully admit it: I’m a massive Say Yes to the Dress fan, and I thought it would be really fun to try on dresses there. Plus, given Kleinfeld’s alleged huge selection, I figured if anyone could find a dress that looked good on me, they would.

Untitled

Me with my fashion experts in front of the ‘Feld.
(personal photo)

I had no idea what to expect. Mostly, I was having nightmarish flashbacks of prom dress shopping. The foyer was jam-packed with other brides-to-be who actually looked like they knew what they were doing. I distinctly remember turning to my mother and whispering, “I don’t belong here. Let’s go!” To which my mother nearly smacked me upside the head.

Anyway, enter our consultant, Katie (no, she’s not a featured consultant on SYTTD), who shows my family to a couch/mirror setup (if you’ve seen the show, it’s the big room where they do most of the filming, but no, neither us nor anyone there at the time was filming) and brings me back to a little dressing room. We chat for a few minutes, I show her a some pictures, and she goes out of her way to make me feel comfortable.

Let me pause here and state for the record: I am a Plus-Size Woman. Or, depending on my mood, a Fatty Magoo. If I were to try and squeeze myself into a sample size, terrible things would happen. So when Katie, Angel From Heaven, promised to only bring me dresses that I could actually try on (as opposed to holding them up and imagining what they might look like on me), I nearly fell to the floor and kissed her feet.

Katie starts bringing out dresses, and she keeps her promise – I fit into every single one of them. Better yet, they all look good on me! Not to toot my own horn, but I even tried on (and loved) a slinky mermaid or two. She diligently jots down our favorite dresses for when I come back to purchase later on. We’ve only exhausted about an hour of our ninety minute appointment, and I’ve tried on at least fifteen dresses. I think I have a good selection of contenders to come back to. Katie suggests using the rest of the appointment to try on dresses for fun, and I acquiesce.

And then she brings back THE ONE.

I had a feeling as soon as I saw it on the hanger, but once I put it on, I got all giddy and giggly. I practically booked it out to where my family was sitting. Fortunately, another girl was using the mirror to try on veils, so I got to hide for a minute and build up the suspense. As soon as I stepped out, I saw tears.

We still had plenty of time left in the appointment, but I was done.

Right?

To be continued!

Leave a Reply

